I’m a little late on this recipe, which I made for a Labor Day cookout, er, a while ago. With luck, it’s not yet too late in the season to contemplate a summery recipe like this creamy, tart, and delightful pie.

Indian summer, anyone?

I hope you’re not mad at me for my seasonal impropriety. Can I make it up to you with a cute kitten?

Delicious.

Icebox lemon pie
From Salon.com

1½ cups graham cracker crumbs (pulse in the food processor to make crumbs)
¼ cup granulated sugar
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
2 14-ounce cans sweetened condensed milk
4 large egg yolks
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest, or more to taste
½ cup fresh lemon juice, or more to taste
2 cups heavy cream [I found this was easily twice what I wanted—1 cup should be plenty]
6 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

Preheat the oven to 350° F.

In a medium bowl, combine the crumbs, granulated sugar, cinnamon and melted butter. Pat into a 9-inch deep-dish pie pan and bake for 6 to 8 minutes, or until slightly browned. Remove to a wire rack to cool.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the milk, yolks, lemon zest and lemon juice. Pour the lemon filling into the cooled crust. Bake for 10 minutes, or until set. Cool on a rack. Chill the pie for 30 minutes.

When the pie is completely cooled, whip the cream with the confectioners’ sugar until stiff peaks form. Mound the whipped cream on top of the pie and chill for 1 hour.