For the past couple of days in Washington, it’s been Snowpocalypse, snOMG, Thundersnow, and so on. For the most part, I didn’t mind being a shut-in, as I have a brief to write.

hitting the town after a day of brief-writing

But the price of being snowed in is certain warm, cozy, culinary sacrifices we must force ourselves to indulge in, like hot chocolate, apple cider, and cookies galore. Such things are mandatory. There was just one problem: I was out of butter.

Out! Of! Butter! I had enough to bake Smitten Kitchen’s black bread yesterday, and a tiny bit more to ration out on top of the warm bread, but that was it. So no cookies for me. In ransacking the freezer for more butter, though, I came across a treasure I’d forgotten all about—a bag of frozen cherries left over from the summer. And sitting on the counter where I’d left it from making this cake was a nice bottle of bourbon. I clearly had no choice but to combine the cherries with some bourbon, vanilla, and sugar, stew them all together for a while, and devour them. The gods of winter demand no less.

I left that dribble of juice on the ramekin to remind you that I'm not perfect. And because I was too lazy to wipe it off.

I didn’t do anything as reasonable as measure, so I was all set to write this post with unhelpful amounts like “a glug of bourbon,” “a pour of sugar” and “however many cherries you have.” But even though I didn’t realize it at the time, my subconscious must have been inspired by this recipe from Sally Schneider at The Atlantic, and she was considerate enough to include actual quantities.

Stewed cherries with bourbon
Adapted from Sally Schneider at The Atlantic

About 1 ¼ pounds sweet or sour cherries, washed and drained
About 3 tablespoons sugar or honey for sweet cherries; 1/4 to 1/3 cup for sour ones
2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons bourbon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
dash salt

Combine all ingredients in saucepan over medium-low heat for a few minutes until syrupy and thickened. Serve with ice cream, whipped cream, or simply a spoon.

Serves 4.

