My mouth is on fire from these firecracker shrimp, and I couldn’t be happier.

I am so grateful for all the accidents that led me to this state of lip-tingling bliss: Thank you, Costco, for compelling me to buy a giant bag of frozen shrimp. Thank you, insanely rigorous yoga class, for giving me a fierce craving for protein tonight. Thank you, study abroad program in Sri Lanka, for forcing me to develop some degree of tolerance for spice. And finally, thank you, Pioneer Woman, for writing about your marvelous firecracker shrimp in a way that made me add the recipe to my list.

They hurt so good.

Now I have to go drink some milk. Thank you, milk, for being so good at soothing the burn.

Firecracker shrimp
Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

1 pound large (16 to 20 count) shrimp, peeled and deveined
2 tablespoons Sriracha (or other hot chili sauce)
2 tablespoons peanut oil, plus more for greasing pan
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons sugar
4 to 5 cloves garlic, minced

Combine all ingredients except shrimp in a large freezer bag and shake until combined. Add shrimp and marinate for approximately 30 minutes (or up to two hours). If you feel like it, thread the shrimp onto skewers.

Brush grill pan with oil (or pour some oil onto a paper towel and rub the pan). Heat pan over medium heat until oil is almost smoking. Cook shrimp, turning occasionally with tongs, until opaque on both sides.

Serve with milk handy.

