I am so tired. I was up at 5 a.m. this morning, and I am not a girl who does 5 a.m. As a result, cooking dinner tonight was on a long list of things I really did not want to do. The list included going to the gym (skipped), returning important emails (skipped), getting Comcast to fix my cable bill (skipped), and taking out the trash (would have skipped, but it smelled too bad).

But there was a significant roadblock between me and my frozen pizza for dinner: some defrosted tilapia and a three-day hiatus before I’d have another chance to cook dinner. If I skipped cooking tonight, that fish would go to waste. Horrible, detestable waste.  And so I dragged my weary self off the couch to cook dinner and chided my chipper yesterday self for thinking that defrosting the fish was a good idea.

As it turns out, my chipper yesterday self was right. This fish IS a good idea. It’s fast and healthy and way better than frozen pizza. Plus, the sauce is absolutely delicious on broccoli and cauliflower, which I sauteed while the fish was baking. And now I’m back on the couch, sated, and rushing through this post so that I can go to bed.

Okay, the fish fell apart. And looks a little undercooked in this picture. But let's face it, you're not here to learn tips about presentation. Or photography. I'M TIRED LEAVE ME ALONE.

Ginger and cilantro baked tilapia
From The Kitchn

2 large tilapia fillets (or similar thin white fish) – about 3/4 pound
1 jalapeno pepper (optional)
3 garlic cloves
1 inch grated ginger (1 tablespoon)
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup white wine
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1/3 cup chopped cilantro
Scallions, chopped for garnish
Extra cilantro, to garnish

Heat the oven to 475°F. Pat the fish dry and season lightly with salt and pepper. Place in a glass baking dish.

Chop the pepper and garlic, and grate the ginger. [Or do as I did—put everything in the food processor whole and count on the machine to do your chopping and grating.] Put in a small food processor with the soy sauce, white wine, sesame oil, and cilantro. Whir until blended. Pour the sauce over the fish, rubbing it in a little. Bake for about 8 minutes, or until the fish flakes easily and is cooked through. It will be very moist and gelatinous, still.

Serve immediately over brown rice, garnished with scallions and cilantro.

Serves 2.

