So I go on vacation for two weeks and carefully mete out prewritten posts so that my devoted blog fans will not have to suffer in my absence. Then I come back and promptly neglect to post for almost as many days as I was away. Sorry about that.

I was here.

I hope these eggs—poached in a spicy tomato sauce—will make up for my absence. I made them the morning I got back, and they went a long way to helping me making me feel better about the sad fact of no longer being on vacation. They are just superb eggs. On mornings where I don’t need to console myself but am instead merely delighted that it’s the weekend, I’m sure I’ll like them even more.

Vacation consolation.

Shakshuka
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Note: Since I was just cooking for me, I only made two eggs and scaled the rest of the recipe down accordingly. I trust that Smitten Kitchen’s proportions work fine.

2 tablespoons olive oil
5 Anaheim chiles or 3 jalapeños, stemmed, seeded, and finely chopped [I used dried chili peppers I happened to have on hand, but red pepper flakes would also do fine]
1 small yellow onion, chopped
5 cloves garlic, crushed then sliced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon paprika
14-ounce can tomato sauce
5 ounces frozen spinach, thawed and drained well, or other cooked leafy greens [I cooked and chopped some chard]
Salt to taste
6 eggs
1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
Pita, for serving (optional)

Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Add chiles and onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown, about 6 minutes. Add garlic, cumin, and paprika, and cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is soft, about 2 more minutes.

Add tomato sauce to skillet along with 1/2 cup water, reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thickened slightly, about 15 minutes. Stir in greens and season sauce with salt.

Crack eggs over sauce so that eggs are evenly distributed across sauce’s surface. Cover skillet and cook until yolks are just set, about 5 minutes. Using a spoon, baste the whites of the eggs with tomato mixture, being careful not to disturb the yolk. Sprinkle shakshuka with feta and serve with pita.

Serves 3.

