My mother is from Savannah, Georgia, and every now and then, if I’m very lucky, we get to go visit and stay at the beach on Tybee Island. Until recently, my main reasons for enjoying Tybee have been (1) family, and (2) the beach. But on my most recent trip, I was introduced to a third reason: an incredible shrimp salad from the dinky little local market.  The market seems like a terrible place to buy meat or produce, but they clearly know what they’re doing with seafood. I’m pretty sure I single-handedly consumed about a pound of this stuff in less than 48 hours.

It's not at the beach, but it will do.

And I paid careful attention to the ingredient list on the empty container, because I had every intention of replicating this salad as soon as humanly possible. You should do the same.

Tybee shrimp salad

1 pound small cooked shrimp, peeled, tail off
2 stalks celery, finely diced
1/2 small red onion, finely diced
cider vinegar
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1/4 teaspoons Old Bay seasoning, more to taste
1/2 teaspoons salt, more to taste
1/2 tablespoon lemon juice, more to taste

Place the diced red onion in a small bowl and cover with cider vinegar. Set aside for about 10 minutes and drain thoroughly. (If you like your red onion more pungent, you can skip this step, but I prefer it a bit mellower.)

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Adjust seasoning as desired (I find that more salt is beneficial).

Refrigerate for at least one hour. Before serving, drain off some of the liquid. Serve with white bread or on lettuce leaves.

