Sorry, I got distracted there for a minute. Where was I? Oh, right–these beauties:

Poofy!

You can’t tell from the photo, but they are oozing with goodness. Even though I knew better, I managed to burn my tongue pretty substantially by snarfing one the moment they came out of the oven. (Have I learned my lesson? No.)

I first had these at a dinner party eons ago, and I’ve been thinking about them ever since. I’m mystified as to why it took me so long to make them—I think I’m stuck on the idea that puff pastry is COMPLICATED.  When, in fact, it is SIMPLE and AMAZING. (Unless you make it yourself, which I suppose theoretically I might do, someday, but it’s awfully hard to justify the effort when food snobs applaud the frozen stuff.)  I swear, these triangles were mangled blobs when they went in the oven. But the magic of puff pastry made them both look and taste delicious. The stuff is pure genius.

Pear, gorgonzola, and caramelized onion pastry triangles
Adapted from AllRecipes.com and The Skillet Takes

3 tablespoons butter
2 sweet onions, thinly sliced
salt and pepper to taste
1 package frozen puff pastry
2 firm pears, peeled, quartered, and sliced thinly
3/4 cup crumbled gorgonzola or other blue cheese
1 egg white

Set the pastry out to thaw.

Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Stir the onions into the butter, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onions have softened and caramelized to a deep, golden brown, 30 to 40 minutes. Once done, season with salt and pepper and set aside to cool.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Use a sharp knife to cut each sheet of puff pastry into 9 squares. Place a small amount of caramelized onions, pear, and blue cheese in the middle of each square. (Do not overfill! If you are like me, you will be sorely tempted. You will probably have some of each component left over.)

Beat egg white with one tablespoon water and brush around the edges of each square. Fold each square into a triangle and press the edges closed to seal.

Transfer to cookie sheets and bake 20-25 minutes, until pastry is golden brown. Eat while hot, but not so hot that you burn your mouth.

