It’s hard to remember now, but there was a time, not too terribly long ago, when it was so hot that I couldn’t bear to turn on the oven. This time of year, I delight in turning on the oven. Not only does it heat my apartment, but there are so many wonderful things to be made with pumpkin and ginger and cardamom and all those other warming flavors that, not coincidentally, also go into Starbucks’s evil holiday beverage lineup. I usually succumb to those beverages at least a couple of times during the season, but my ability to resist is enhanced by how incomparably preferable these flavors are in baked goods than in a coffee-based beverage.

Ignore the missing cookie.

For example, these cookies, which are overflowing with ginger—powdered, fresh, and candied. (The only other form I can think of is pickled, which I imagine would not go so well in baked goods.) The site where I got the recipe called them “chewy ginger cookies with cardamom and black pepper,” but I think that substantially understates their ginger power. In fact, the sheer ginger force of these cookies reminded me of Trader Joe’s crisp triple ginger cookies (which I used, back in those long-ago hot days, to make a crust for this lovely tart), so I have renamed the recipe in their honor.

Chewy triple ginger cookies
From Pithy and Cleaver (all I did was change the name)

2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon ground ginger
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
1/2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
1/2 cup chopped candied ginger [I recommend using a food processor, if you have one]
1/4 cup coarse sugar, for rolling (optional [but highly recommended])

Preheat oven to 350°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, ground ginger, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cocoa, cardamom, and pepper.

In a large bowl, beat together sugar and vegetable oil. Beat in egg, grated fresh ginger, and molasses until smooth. Fold in the flour mixture until well combined, then add in candied ginger.

Shape dough into 1 inch balls, roll in coarse sugar and place on baking sheet. Bake 6-7 minutes until just set. [If, like me, you cannot help but make larger cookies, they will need to bake longer.]

Let cookies cool for 3-5 minutes on cookie sheet, then remove to a wire rack until cool.

Makes 3 dozen.

