I love chickpeas and all the things that can be done with them. There’s hummus and falafel, of course. But there’s also socca, a kind of chickpea pancake, chickpea fries, Ethiopian shiro, and my favorite Sri Lankan breakfast chickpeas.

And I have very recently made the acquaintance of another amazing way to eat chickpeas: as a delightful snack, all by themselves. It turns out that when you roast them past the point of no return, you are left with pure crunch. These are basically to chickpeas what corn nuts are to corn, only much better.

snack time!

The blog where I found the recipe calls for five-spice powder, but these can be spiced however you like. I’ve used smoked paprika, curry powder, and Ethiopian berbere spice, and all have come out beautifully. Each time I’ve made them, my sole regret has been that I only made one can of chickpeas.

Crisp-roasted chickpeas
From What Would Cathy Eat?

1 can chickpeas, drained, rinsed and thoroughly dried
spices of choice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 teaspoons olive oil

Toss everything together and spread on a baking sheet. Tossing midway through, roast at 400 degrees for 40 minutes or until completely crunchy.

