My recent acquisition of a grill has, unfortunately, left me with fewer “recipes” to write about—much of my cooking these days is throwing assorted bits of protein or vegetable on a hot grill and hoping for the best.  It’s been tasty, but not necessarily something worth writing home about. I mean, everyone knows that meat and veggies (especially eggplant, zucchini, peppers, and mushrooms) taste great on the grill, right?

But here’s something I, at least, did not know until last night: okra is fabulous on the grill. It gets charred and tender and not at all slimy. In fact, grilled okra is probably the most addictive vegetable I’ve encountered in ages. I highly recommend making its acquaintance as soon as possible.

Okra, OK!

Grilled okra

Fresh okra pods (smaller pods are more tasty, I’ve heard)
Olive oil
Salt and pepper
Pinch cayenne pepper (optional)

Heat grill to medium-high heat. Toss okra pods with olive oil, salt, and pepper (and optional cayenne). Cook, turning from time to time, until pods are lightly charred. Serve immediately.

