When I moved into my apartment,  I’d hoped that I might be able to grow some plants on my back patio. I had visions of herbs of every kind, tiny eggplants, okra, chili peppers, an endless flow of zucchini, and maybe even some lettuces in the shady parts of the patio. It turned out, though, that my patio is nothing but shade—and I could not bring myself to go to the trouble of gardening at all when my only yield would be lettuce. I’m sad about the herbs, but I’ll confess to a slight relief that I’m not subjecting myself to the torrent of zucchini that gardeners complain about come summertime. Now I can procure precisely as many zucchini as I need. No more, no less.

And then you can make things like this, which requires exactly one zucchini:

Zuke me.

While I’ve never much cared for sweet zucchini breads (despite my general glee at sneaking vegetables into desserts), this savory one hits the spot. I was inspired to make it by the lovely ladies of Whisked, who enticed me with a sample of a similar bread a few weeks back. Everyone should check out their wares at the U Street Farmers Market—but in case they’re out of their savory zucchini bread, this one is almost as good.

Herbed zucchini cheese bread
From Hobbyfarms.com

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoons baking soda
¾ teaspoons salt
¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons your favorite fresh herbs, chopped, such as dill and parsley, or rosemary, basil, and oregano
2 tablespoons green onions or shallots, finely chopped
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated
2 eggs
¼ cup olive oil
½ cup milk
1 cup zucchini, shredded

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease and flour a loaf pan.

Combine dry ingredients, herbs, green onions or shallots and cheese; stir to mix well. In a separate bowl, beat eggs lightly; add oil and milk, and mix well. Stir in zucchini. Add liquid ingredients with zucchini to flour mixture and stir just until all ingredients are moistened; do not overmix.

Pour into a loaf pan, and smooth top of batter. Bake at for 40 to 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let loaf stand for 15 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.

