The next time you see raspberries, buy them. It does not matter how much they cost. I promise, you will want them to make this astonishing thing. It confirms my belief that brown sugar + broiler = heaven.

Berry my heart.

Confession: the only thing that kept me from eating the whole batch in one sitting was not the cup of sour cream involved, but the fact that I’d paid $4.50 for a half-pint of raspberries.

Raspberry brown sugar gratin
From Smitten Kitchen

[I halved this recipe (see the aforementioned half-pint of raspberries) to no ill effect.]

1 pint (2 cups) fresh raspberries (or your choice of berry)
1 pint (2 cups) sour cream (or crème fraîche)
1 cup dark brown sugar

Preheat broiler. Gently fold raspberries and sour cream together in a shallow 1-quart dish. Press the brown sugar through a sieve or mesh colander so that it sprinkles evenly over the dish. Run the dish under the broiler until the sugar just starts to caramelize. Eat at once.

The leftovers might look like something died in your fridge but I can assure you, are equally delicious. [I agree, on both died-in-your-fridge and equally delicious.]